Boxing Writers Association of America , 90th Annual Awards Gala NYC -2015

BWAA was honored to feature Roy Jones, Bernard Hopkins and superstar Gennady Golovkin at the 90th Annual BWAA in NYC 2015.

The following won Awards on the night:

Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of the Year
Terence Crawford

Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award Fight of the Year
Lucas Matthysse-John Molina

Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year
Freddie Roach

Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year
Al Haymon

Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award
Dan Goossen

Nat Fleischer Award Excellence in Boxing Journalism
Mark Whicker

A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writing
Ira Berkow

Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism
Seth Abraham

Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service
Jack Hirsch

Bill Crawford Courage Award
Steve & Livvy Cunningham

The object, goal and purpose of the Boxing Writers Association of America is to foster the highest professional and ethical standards in boxing journalism, both print and electronic, and to promote better working conditions for those who cover and report on the sport.

The BWAA is a natural outgrowth of an organization born in February 1926 in a midtown Manhattan hotel and christened the Boxing Writers Association of Greater New York. The group was formed to improve conditions at boxing shows for New York writers and their visiting colleagues and, in a general sense, to enhance the sport as a whole.
Annual dues for membership are $40, or a sum to be determined by a vote of the officers and board of directors, for both full and associate membership. Dues should be payable upon submission of a member’s end-of-the-year award ballot.

Today, with members nationwide and from several countries, the BWAA has moved into the 21st century representing print and online journalists.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply