The Giants of Broadcasting Luncheon – 2012

The National Library of American Broadcasting presented its 10th Annual Giants of Broadcasting Honors at a ceremony and luncheon on October 18, 2012, in New York City. The event served as a tribute to those individuals who have played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts. The distinguished honorees join 140 Giants of Broadcasting who have been honored by the Library since 2003. Bill Baker, president emeritus of WNET New York and himself a Giant of Broadcasting, served as master of ceremonies.

Sir Howard Stringer, Chairman of the Sony Corporation
Ted Turner, Media Mogul and Creator of CNN, TBS, TNT; Philanthropist
Norman Lear, Writer-Producer of All in the Family, Maude, The Jeffersons, Sanford and Son and a number of major hits
George Beasley, Chairman, CEO and Founder of Beasley Broadcast Group
Erica Farber, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau
Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Creators and Anchors of The MacNeil/Lehr Report, MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer and PBS
Andy Rooney* Veteran reporter; writer; commentator on CBS’ 60 Minutes
Don Cornelius**, Creator, Host and Producer of nationally syndicated Soul Train
Dinah Shore***, Singer, Actress and Television Personality

*Leslie Stahl, Correspondent, 60 Minutes and Face the Nation, accepted the award on behalf of Andy Rooney.
**Tony Cornelius accepted for his father, Don Cornelius.
***Dick Arlett, producer of “Dinah and Friends,” accepted for Dinah Shore.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply