Boxing Writers Association of America 93rd Annual Awards Ceremony-2018

By: Dr.Adal M.Hussain,Phd (AKA) Dr.Abbey  Editor @ Large for World Liberty TV

The object, goal and purpose of the Boxing Writers Association of America is to foster the highest professional and ethical standards in boxing journalism, both print and electronic, and to promote better working conditions for those who cover and report on the sport.

Boxing Promoter

Lou Dibella wins Sam Taub Award presented by Mr Santoliquito & Seth Abraham

The BWAA is a natural outgrowth of an organization born in February 1926 in a midtown Manhattan hotel and christened the Boxing Writers Association of Greater New York. The group was formed to improve conditions at boxing shows for New York writers and their visiting colleagues and, in a general sense, to enhance the sport as a whole.

Lomo Team Winning BWAA Awards

BWAA Award winners Vasiliy Lomachenko Egis Klimas & Anatoly Lomachenko

Of the seven founding fathers of the organization, many came from newspapers long vanished from the city’s newsstands: The New York Sun, Evening World, American, Evening Graphic and the Bronx Home News.

ALI-Frazier Award

Dr.Abbey Congratulating Wladimir Klitschko on his win for Ali Frazier Award for Fight of The Year with Anthony Joshua

Some of those Jazz Age journalists who were among the BWAA’s pioneers, however, went on to become famous in allied fields of writing. Damon Runyon and Paul Gallico graduated to short-story and script writing. Ed Sullivan of the Graphic later became an internationally famous columnist for the New York Daily News and a major television personality. Nat Fleischer stayed closer to home and went on to found The Ring Magazine.

Colombian Adopted

Dr.Abbey with Cecilia Braekhus Winner of The Christy Martin Award for Female Fighter of The Year

Shortly after the founding of the BWAA’s forerunner, the group decided to stage a dinner to celebrate the achievements of those within boxing, with the hope that the affair would become an annual event.It did and is still running strong today.

Boxing Cares Organization

Jill Diamond of World Boxing Council (WBC)

The annual awards dinner quickly became the cornerstone of the BWAA’s yearly activities and its principal source of revenue. After hotel hopping for several years, the BWAA found a permanent home for the dinner, with the repeal of Prohibition, at the famed Ruppert Brewery on the upper Eastside of New York.

Official Attorney of BWAA

BWAA Official Attorney Keith Sullivan introducing the BWAA Bernie Awards & BWAA Photography Award Winners

It was there that the BWAA first presented an award of its own. The year was 1938 and the award was named the Edward J. Neil Trophy in honor of one of its founding fathers, an Associated Press sports reporter who was killed on assignment while covering the Spanish civil war.

Women's World Boxing Champion

Dr.Abbey With Christy Martin Womens Boxing Great

The original deed of the award stated that it be given to “an individual who did the most for boxing in the previous year.” The first honoree was former heavyweight champion Jack Dempsey, who had been retired for several years. Gradually, the award went to those voted Fighter of the Year.

BWAA Bernies Writing Awards

Attorney Keith Sullivan with BWAA Bernie Awards & BWAA Photography Award Winners

Two years later, the James J. Walker Award was established in honor of the former New York mayor and state legislator who in 1920 sponsored the law that saved professional boxing in New York. The award is for long and meritorious service to boxing.

Former BWAA President

Jack Hirsch Presenting Wladimir Klitschko with the Marvin Kohn Award

The BWAA finally got around to honoring its own in 1972 with the Nat Fleischer Award for excellence in boxing journalism, established to honor the memory of one of the BWAA’s founding fathers. Additional awards have been established to recognize accomplishments in the sport and to preserve the memory of some of its most notable members.

Tom Hauser Boxing Author

Tom Hauser & BWAA President Joseph Santoliquito Presnting Barney Nagler Award to Dr Margaret Goodman

The BWAA plays a significant role in the enshrinement of new members of the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota, N.Y. Full members of the BWAA are polled for their insight on each year’s pool of eligible fighters. The results heavily influence each class of inductees.

number 1 Pound for Pound Boxer in the World

Dr.Abbey with Vasiliy Lomachenko Winner of The Sugar Ray Robinson Award for Fighter of The Year

The annual writing contest, known as the Barney Awards in honor of the late president of the BWAA Barney Nagler, was started by BWAA president Bernard Fernandez in 2001. The Barneys are open to all BWAA members who had stories published in the calendar year running Jan. 1 through Dec. 31. An annual photography contest was added in 2004.

Bwaa Bill Crawford Award Winner

L-R Santoliquito with Daniel Franco winner Bill Crawford Award & Lou Dibella looking on

Annual dues for membership are $40, or a sum to be determined by a vote of the officers and board of directors, for both full and associate membership. Dues should be payable upon submission of a member’s end-of-the-year award ballot.

World Middleweight Boxing Champion

Dr.Abbey with Boxing great Bernard Hopkins

Today, with members nationwide and from several countries, the BWAA has moved into the 21st century representing print and online journalists.

Showtime Boxing Network

Dr.Abbey with Stephen Espinoza President Showtime Sports

The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce its 93rd Annual Awards Dinner  took place on Friday, May 11, 2018, at the Copacabana in New York City. The event started with cocktails at 5:30 PM and dinner and awards at 7:00 PM.

Unofficial HBO Boxing Judge

Boxing Judge Harold Lederman Honored For The Most Loved by The Boxing Community Universally

This year’s winners included: Vasiliy Lomachenko , as the Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year, and first Ukrainian fighter to ever win in the 80 -year history of the award; Cecilia Braekhus as the Christy Martin Fighter of the Year; Anthony Joshua  and Wladimir Klitschko , as the Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year recipients; Daniel Franco, as the Bill Crawford Courage award winner; Dr. Margaret Goodman , as the Barney Nagler Long and Meritorious winner; Anatoly Lomachenko, as the Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year; Lou DiBella, for the Sam Taub Excellence in Broadcasting; Mike Rosenthal as the Nat Fleischer winner for excellence in boxing journalism; Wladimir Klitschko and Ed Keenan as the Marvin Kohn “Good Guy;” and Egis Klimas as the Cus D’Amato Manager of the Year.


R-L Jack Hirsch Former BWAA President with Attorney Keith Sullivan

The BWAA is also proud to announce it will be honoring HBO ringside judge Harold Lederman.

Ring Boxing Magazine

Michael Rosenthal winner Nat Fleischer Award for Excellence in Boxing Journalism

See more related to boxing in our World Liberty TV Boxing Channel by clicking here.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply